me

Yesterday I explained my hopes and aspirations for this blog. Today, I would like to introduce myself a little.

I am Sarah. I am a wife to my husband and a mother to my children. I feel strongly about that identity and what it does and can mean. My children are my life, almost exclusively right now, and I choose to see that as an unprecedented blessing. I am confident that this role is among the most important of my life.

My daughter, Z, is 3 and 1/2 and a wildly focused, big-hearted, graceful, completely unique old soul and a gentle but intense force to be reckoned with. Her name means “shimmering” or “shining flower” and couldn’t be more perfect for her (she’s never met sparkly thing she didn’t like). My son A is 1 and 1/2 and a fiercely determined, cuddly, energetic, strong bundle of pure momentum and pure sweetness. His name means “prince” or “ruler” and embodies his inborn character and the presence he has in every room.

I want to protect my children from every harm, of course. But, because I know I cannot, I strive to at least protect the magic of this fleeting time when they are so small. I want them to stay precious and innocent for as long as they need to, which I believe to be much longer than what has become normal these days. I work deliberately to not rush them through their precious childhoods as I have tended to rush myself throughout my own life. In fact, these years since the moment Z was born feel to me like the first time I have ever stood still and it is truly amazing!

Besides my role as a mother, I see myself as a fundamentally creative being. I am an artist at heart. I would love to spend my days painting and building that into an actual career. However, my children need my physical and deliberate presence so much right now that I have those dreams on the back burner for a little while. That said, I know that caring for myself and tending to my own needs is one of the best things for everyone. Lately, I am fulfilling my creative thirst by learning and doing lots of new and different crafty things that I will definitely be sharing here as well.

I chose the name “Sarah’s Serendipity” because I feel that I have been so fortunate in my life in so many ways. While I think “luck” is an insufficient explanation, I nevertheless feel very lucky. I believe (shocker) that my children are truly special beings, each one a perfect contribution to the fabric of our family. I also feel truly blessed to have found a parenting philosophy that is deeply in tune with my beliefs and instincts as well as a supportive community of like-minded people through Waldorf education. I think so much of who we are, especially as parents, has to with what information we have had the “luck” of being exposed to. In that way, serendipity has changed my life.

I really am on a journey in my life right now. I think we all are. We never stop learning and growing. Can you imagine if we did? I hope that my chronicling of this journey will keep you company in your own.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to me

  1. It’s great to get to know you a little more Sarah. Your parenting and lifestyle goals are the perfect foundation for your children. I can’t wait to read more about you and your family 😉
    Big Hugs.
    Ella

Leave a Reply

